Back to top

Centre for Health Promotion: No Longer a Separate Entity

This is to announce that, as of July 15 2009 , the Centre for Health Promotion, at the University of Toronto , will discontinue to operate as a separate entity. This change is related to the creation of the Dalla Lana School of Public Health (DLSPH) at the University of Toronto , which involves the creation of a divisional structure and the integration of a number of centres into the School’s core teaching programs. With regard to the Centre for Health Promotion, its activities will cut across, and be integrated into, the Division of Social and Behavioural Health Sciences and the Division of Global Health. Recognizing the leading role that the Centre has played in health promotion in Canada and globally, Dr. Jackson will continue to play a key role as a faculty member of the Masters Program in Health Promotion.

Almost all activities of the former Centre for Health Promotion will continue, with Dr. Jackson as a lead faculty member, including:

  • The Health Communication Unit will continue to operate within the DLSPH
  • The Health Promotion Summer School will continue as an activity of the DLSPH for 2010 and beyond.
  • The WHO Collaborating Centre’s status will be maintained, with Dr. Jackson as head; the WHO Collaborating Centre’s team and workplan will continue; the Collaborating Centre’s current designation expires in 2011.
  • The Canadian office of the International Union for Health Promotion and Education (IUHPE) will continue with Fran Perkins as Regional Co-Director.
  • The Youth Voices/Youth Engagement Unit will continue to be directed by Dr. Cameron Norman.
  • The Canadian-European student and faculty exchanges will continue.
  • First Peoples Health Promotion: Dr. Jackson will continue to support work with First Peoples in Northern Canada in connection with the Circumpolar Health Team grant headed by Dr. Kue Young. This activity is funded until 2010.
  • The position of Fellows of the Centre will no longer exist: most Fellows will continue with their current status faculty appointments in the DLSPH.
  • The position of Financial and Administrative Assistant of the Centre for Health Promotion will not exist after August 2009.
  • The Healthy University of Toronto Awards, which existed from 1999 to 2007 as an award of the Centre for Health Promotion, will not continue.

The Centre for Health Promotion’s 18th and final Annual Report was issued in December 2008.

 The Centre for Health Promotion would like to acknowledge its debt and gratitude to the many organizations and individuals who have contributed to its work during the past 18 years. Special thanks are due to members of the Centre’s final Advisory Board: Connie Clement (Health Nexus) (Chair), Gail Czukar and Marianne Kobus-Matthews (Centre for Addiction and Mental Health), Heather Ramsay (Public Health Agency of Canada), Dr. Rhonda Love, Dr. Blake Poland, and Dr. Fran Scott.

In recognition of 18.5 years of contributions and leadership in the field of health promotion in Canada and beyond, there will be a party to celebrate the achievements of Centre for Health Promotion on Monday, June 29th, 2009 from 4:00 to 7:00 pm. In the 7th floor lounge of the Health Sciences Building , 155 College St . Irv Rootman (CHP Director 1991-2001) will be in Toronto and he and Suzanne Jackson (Director 2001-2009) will be present to mark all of those 18.5 years! Please come and tell your stories of your connections to the CHP or stories about the impact it has had on your work. RSVP to Michelle Rosen ( by June 22 so we can ensure that the space and catering match the numbers!