Back to top

Call for Nominations--C.P. Shah Alumni Award of Excellence

Deadline April 30, 2012

The C.P. Shah Alumni Award of Excellence in Public Health was established to recognize graduates of any of the academic programs offered by the Dalla Lana School of Public Health (formerly the Dept. of Public Health Sciences) who have advanced the field of public/population health in Canada or its provinces/territories by his/her contribution and/or sustained efforts in one or more of the following fields:

Practice of Public Health, for example:

  • Development of new delivery models of public health services
  • Expansion of existing public health services in a creative manner to deliver added services
  • Strong advocacy of public/ population health which resulted in new changes to healthy public policy

Teaching, for example:

  • Development of teaching programs/ material which excite and move forward the field of public/ population health education for undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate and/or continuing education

Research, for example:

  • Applied or basic research which improves or modifies the delivery of public health and/or population health services

Past Recipients

  • Dr. Sheela Basrur
  • Dr. David McKeown

The Nomination Process

Public health organizations and individuals active in the field are invited to nominate candidates. The submission should include:

  • a nomination letter that speaks to achievements in the fields outlined above
  • two additional letters of support
  • the full curriculum vitae of the nominee

Please send nomination package electronically to no later than April 30, 2012.


The recipient will receive a commemorative plaque presented at the DLSPH Awards Dinner in June 2012. Travel expenses to attend the dinner will be covered.